Featured Articles
/ Categories: 533


Alyssa LaCava



Alyssa LaCava

Xavier University


Transitions, New Affiliations, Appointments

Joe Colihan joined the University of St. Thomas, in St. Paul, Minnesota as an adjunct professor.  He will be teaching Psychology and Work.  Students will learn traditional I-O topics from Paul Muchinsky's latest 2015 textbook and sustainability concepts from the newly published Psychology for Sustainability(2016) by Scott, Amel, Koger, and Manning. Joe also continues work with the People Analytics team at IBM, where he has held positions in survey research, selection and testing, and analytics for 24 years.


Steve Colarelli is in Hong Kong this year as visiting professor of Management at Hong Kong Baptist University.


The board of directors of the Association of Test Publishers (ATP) reappointed David Arnoldas ATP’s general counsel at its September European Conference in Dublin. David is also general counsel for ATP-member Wonderlic, Inc.    


Ron Johnson retired July 2, 2015 after working for 46 years in higher education.  During those years he served as a faculty member, department chair, assistant dean, associate dean, and dean at seven different universities:  University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Northeast Louisiana University (now University of Louisiana at Monroe), University of Wisconsin-Madison (visiting faculty member), Texas A&M University, Virginia Tech, University of Scranton, and North Dakota State University.  His contributions to SIOP have included serving as Financial Officer, serving as the first registration chair for the SIOP annual conference, and being appointed twice to serve as conference chair (for a total of 7 years).  As a way to stay engaged with higher education, Ron recently formed Global Academic Advisors, LLC.  In the spring of 2016, Ron and his wife will move to Goodyear, Arizona where they are currently building a home.  



Honors and Awards


Wendy S. Becker was selected as the winner of the 2015 Middle Atlantic Association of Colleges of Business Administration (MAACBA) Innovation in Teaching Award competition for her proposal, "Increasing Student Awareness of Risky Decision Making." She will receive a $1,000 award and all expenses paid to present her paper at MAACBA’s conference in Bolton Landing, NY.


Michael P. Wilmot of the University of Minnesota is the 2015 winner of HumRRO's Meredith P. Crawford Fellowship in Industrial and Organizational Psychology. Presented annually to a doctoral student demonstrating exceptional research skills, the fellowship includes a $12,000 stipend.


The Executive Council of EFPA awarded its 2015 Aristotle Prize to Dr. José Maria Peiró from the University of Valencia (Spain). The Aristotle Prize was given to EFPA by the president of the IVth European Congress of Psychology in 1995 Athens, Greece, to be awarded to a psychologist from Europe who has made a distinguished contribution to psychology. To read more about this honor, click here.


Good luck and congratulations!


Keep your colleagues at SIOP up to date. Send items for IOTAS to Morrie Mullins at mullins@xavier.edu.


1629 Rate this article:
No rating
Comments are only visible to subscribers.


Information on this website, including articles, white papers, and other resources, is provided by SIOP staff and members. We do not include third-party content on our website or in our publications, except in rare exceptions such as paid partnerships.